Washington State University World Class. Face to Face. Future Students Campuses WSU Home WSU Search
Michael Allen, PhD
Senior Instructor
Physics & Astronomy
Homepage | Contact | Astrophotos | Bio | Professional | Links | Projects | Planetarium tours | Astronomy @ WSU

Planetarium tours

planetarium

Fundraising

We are currently raising funds to refurbish the planetarium, purchase a new projector, and establish a bursary to enable low-income and other underpriviledged groups to come visit us. You can contact me with questions or to donate.

Daytime shows for schools

The planetarium is an indoor simulated sky. Tours of the WSU planetarium can be arranged with me via email, or via the Visitor Center (see below). We prefer groups of 12 or more, to a maximum of 50. Sadly, budget cutbacks currently restrict us to offering tours only on Tuesday and Thursdays before 12 noon.

Tours are geared towards middle school classes, but the level can be tailored to the group. There is no cost for a tour. Bus parking is available in Flag Lane on the WSU campus. The planetarium is located in Sloan Hall room 229/231.

If you are interested in other tours at WSU (physics & chemistry demos, raptor center, bear facility, herbarium, creamery), please contact the excellent staff at the Brelsford Visitor Centre. https://visitor.wsu.edu/ . For prospective students, please contact directly the academic unit you are interested in.

Evening public shows

Public show tickets are $5. They can be purchased at the door shortly before the show begins; cash only, please.

Handy links:


Current schedule:


DATE        TIME      GROUP                                  PRESENTER
----------------------------------------------------------------------
-- 2018 --

** Wednesdays at noon January to April: "Stellar meditation". **

** Final exam week April 30 - May 4; no shows **

Sun Apr 29  5:00pm "Drifters in the dark: Voyager 1 and 2"          --
Fri Apr 27  7:00pm "Drifters in the dark: Voyager 1 and 2"          --

Sun Apr 22  5:00pm "Dr Who's cosmos"                                --
Fri Apr 20  7:00pm "Dr Who's cosmos"                                --

Sun Mar 25  5:00pm "Strange universe"                               --
Fri Mar 23  7:00pm "Strange universe"                               --

** Spring break March 12-16; no shows **

Sun Feb 25  5:00pm "Cosmic fireworks"                               --
Fri Feb 23  7:00pm "Cosmic fireworks"                               --
Wed Feb 14  tba    "Some like it hot"                               --
Sun Feb 11  5:00pm "Hubble space telescopes's greatest hits"        --
Fri Feb 09  7:00pm "Hubble space telescopes's greatest hits"        --

** Wednesdays at noon January to April: "Stellar meditation". **

Sun Jan 28  5:00pm "Millions of miles to Mars"                      --
Fri Jan 26  7:00pm "Millions of miles to Mars"                      --
Fri Jan 19  1:10pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 17
Thu Jan 18 12:00pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 25
Thu Jan 18  9:10pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 19
Wed Jan 17 12:10pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 22
Wed Jan 10  2:10pm Honors 290                                 Allen 24
----------------------------------------------------------------------