Washington State University World Class. Face to Face. Future Students Campuses WSU Home WSU Search
Michael Allen, PhD
Senior Instructor
Physics & Astronomy
Homepage | Contact | Astrophotos | Bio | Professional | Links | Projects | Planetarium tours | Astronomy @ WSU

Planetarium tours

planetarium

Fundraising

We are currently raising funds to refurbish the planetarium, purchase a new projector, and establish a bursary to enable low-income and other underpriviledged groups to come visit us. You can contact me with questions or to donate.

Daytime shows for schools

The planetarium is an indoor simulated sky. Tours of the WSU planetarium can be arranged with me via email, or via the Visitor Center (see below). We prefer groups of 12 or more, to a maximum of 50. Sadly, budget cutbacks currently restrict us to offering tours only on Tuesday and Thursdays before 12 noon.

Tours are geared towards middle school classes, but the level can be tailored to the group. There is no cost for a tour. Bus parking is available in Flag Lane on the WSU campus. The planetarium is located in Sloan Hall room 229/231.

If you are interested in other tours at WSU (physics & chemistry demos, raptor center, bear facility, herbarium, creamery), please contact the excellent staff at the Brelsford Visitor Centre. https://visitor.wsu.edu/ . For prospective students, please contact directly the academic unit you are interested in.

Evening public shows

Public show tickets are $5. They can be purchased at the door shortly before the show begins; cash only, please.

Handy links:


Current schedule:


DATE        TIME      GROUP                                  PRESENTER
----------------------------------------------------------------------
-- 2018 --

ALIVE dates:
Jun 5-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-18, 20-22, 24-26, 27-29
Jul 7-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18-20, 23-25
Aug 13-15

RTSRE/IATS: Jul 23-27

** Wednesdays at noon January to April: "Stellar meditation". **

Thu May 31  9:30am Lacrosse G5                                 open 05
Tue May 29 10:00am Franklin Elementary Pullman                 open 40
Tue May 29  9:00am Franklin Elementary Pullman                 open 40
Sun May 27  5:00pm "Planets of summer"                              --
Fri May 25  7:00pm "Planets of summer"                              --
Fri May 25 10:00am Community Childcare (preschool)             open 20
Thu May 24  2:00pm Home schoolers                              open 25
Thu May 24 10:15am Whitman Elem                                open 50
Tue May 15  1:00pm Bovill Elementary G2 (2nd show)            Allen 40
Tue May 15 10:00am Bovill Elementary G2 (1st show)            Allen 40
Fri May 11 11:00am Washtucna HS                             Worthey 15
Tue May 08  1:00pm Pullman Christian G1-4                     Allen 25

** Final exam week April 30 - May 4; no shows **

Sun Apr 29  5:00pm "Drifters in the dark: Voyager 1 and 2"    Jones --
Fri Apr 27  7:00pm "Drifters in the dark: Voyager 1 and 2"    Jones --
Sun Apr 22  5:00pm "Dr Who's cosmos"                        Daniels --
Fri Apr 20  7:00pm "Dr Who's cosmos"                        Daniels --
Thu Apr 19  1:25pm ASTR 150                                    Bose 20
Wed Apr 11  6:00pm Envr sci 101                             Daniels --
Mon Apr 02 10:30am YMCA                                       Jones --

** Wed at noon Jan to Apr: "Stellar meditation". Wrigley. **

Sun Mar 25  5:00pm "Strange universe"                         Jones --
Fri Mar 23  7:00pm "Strange universe"                         Jones --
Thu Mar 22 10:30am UI-TRIO program                          Worthey 30
Tue Mar 20  6;00pm WSU Performing Arts                        Allen 10

** Spring break March 12-16; no shows **

Sun Feb 25  5:00pm "Cosmic fireworks"                         Jones --
Fri Feb 23  7:00pm "Cosmic fireworks"                         Jones --
Wed Feb 14  tba    "Some like it hot"                           tbd --
Sun Feb 11  5:00pm "HST's greatest hits"                    Worthey --
Fri Feb 09  7:00pm "HST's greatest hits"                    Worthey --
Tue Feb 06 10:30am Heights Elem Highly Capable program        Allen 25

Sun Jan 28  5:00pm "Millions of miles to Mars"                Jones --
Fri Jan 26  7:00pm "Millions of miles to Mars"                Jones --
Wed Jan 24 12:00pm Stellar meditation                       Wrigley 02
Fri Jan 19  1:10pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 17
Thu Jan 18 12:00pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 25
Thu Jan 18  9:10pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 19
Wed Jan 17 12:10pm Astronomy 135                               Duez 22
Wed Jan 10  2:10pm Honors 290                                 Allen 24
----------------------------------------------------------------------