Washington State University World Class. Face to Face. Future Students Campuses WSU Home WSU Search
Michael Allen, PhD
Senior Instructor
Physics & Astronomy
Homepage | Contact | Astrophotos | Bio | Professional | Links | Projects | Planetarium tours | Astronomy @ WSU

Planetarium tours

planetarium

Daytime shows for schools

The planetarium is an indoor simulated sky. Tours of the WSU planetarium can be arranged with Dr. Guy Worthey via email (gworthey at wsu.edu), or via the Visitor Center (see below). We prefer groups of 12 or more, to a maximum of 55. The best times are weekdays 10 a.m., 11 a.m., or 1 p.m.

Tours are geared towards middle school or older, but younger groups can be accomodated. There is no cost for a tour. Bus parking is available in Flag Lane on the WSU campus. Car permits can be purchased at the parking office. The planetarium is located in Sloan Hall room 231.

If you are interested in other tours at WSU (physics & chemistry demos, raptor center, bear facility, herbarium, creamery), please contact the staff at the Brelsford Visitor Centre. https://visitor.wsu.edu/ . For prospective students, please contact directly the academic unit you are interested in.

Evening public shows

Public show tickets are $5. They can be purchased at the door shortly before the show begins; cash only, please.

Handy links:


Current schedule:


DATE        TIME      GROUP                                  PRESENTER
----------------------------------------------------------------------
-- 2020 --
Fri Apr 24 10:00am Kahlotus School, Gina van Hollebeke         TBD 24

-- 2019 --

Sun Dec 15  3:00pm Girl Scouts - Cory Ulrich - star lives     open
Sun Dec 15  5:00pm Cassini's Grand Finale                    Jones
Fri Dec 13  7:00pm Cassini's Grand Finale                    Jones
Sun Dec 08  5:00pm Distant Worlds - Alien Life?            Worthey
Fri Dec 06  7:00pm Distant Worlds - Alien Life?            Worthey

Sun Nov 17  3:00pm Girl Scouts - Alisha Merriman              open
Sat Nov 16 11:00am Dads #4                                   staff
Sat Nov 16 12:00pm Dads #5                                   staff
Sat Nov 16  1:00pm Dads #6                                   staff
Fri Nov 15  6:00pm Dads #1                                   staff
Fri Nov 15  7:00pm Dads #2                                   staff
Fri Nov 15  8:00pm Dads #3                                   staff
Sun Nov 10  5:00pm Mercury Transit                         Worthey
Fri Nov 08  7:00pm Mercury Transit                         Worthey
Mon Nov 04 10:00am Grangeville home school group          Westlund 30

Sun Oct 27  5:00pm Haunted Skies                             Jones
Fri Oct 25  7:00pm Haunted Skies                             Jones
Tue Oct 22 11:15am Centennial Elementary (half hour) 
Tue Oct 22 11:55am Centennial Elementary (half hour) 
Sun Oct 13  5:00pm Strange Universe                          Jones
Fri Oct 11  7:00pm Strange Universe                          Jones
Thu Oct 03  9:10am Honors 390                              Worthey 28

Sun Sep 29  5:00pm Presentación del Planetario en Español   Dodgen 21
Sat Sep 28  1:30pm Youth Ambassadors                        Dodgen 45
Fri Sep 27  7:00pm Presentación del Planetario en Español   Dodgen  7
Mon Sep 23  5:30pm WSU Physics Club                        Worthey 20
Sun Sep 22  5:00pm Solar System Sensation                   Dodgen 26
Fri Sep 20  7:00pm Solar System Sensation                   Dodgen 33

---August 26-29: closed for painting---
Sun Aug 18  5:00pm Backyard Binocular Astronomy              Jones 23
Fri Aug 16  7:00pm Backyard Binocular Astronomy              Jones 20
Thu Aug 01 12:30pm Mabton School District K-3               Dodgen 11

** subtotal 1877 visitors
Fri Jul 26 10:00am WSU child care center (preschool)      Westlund 15
Thu Jul 25 10:00am Little Edisons School (ages 5-11)        Dodgen 24
Thu Jul 25  1:00pm YMCA Summer Day Camp                     Dodgen 52
Tue Jul 23 10:00am Information Techn Jaqueline Southwick  Westlund 15
Sun Jul 21  5:00pm Magnificent Desolation (Apollo 11)        Jones 44
Fri Jul 19  7:00pm Magnificent Desolation (Apollo 11)        Jones 47
Mon Jul 15  7:00pm Cougs Rise - Ray Acuna-Luna              Dodgen 20
Tue Jul  9 11:00am Mandy Kinzer group                       Dodgen 14

Sun Jun 30  5:00pm Drifters in the Dark                      Jones 21
Fri Jun 28  7:00pm Drifters in the Dark                      Jones 19
Wed Jun 26  1:30pm WSU Children's Center (K-6)             Worthey 25
Tue Jun 25 10:00am Summer Kamp, Marianne Sletteland       Westlund 28
Sun Jun 16  5:00pm Galaxies                                Worthey 20
Fri Jun 14  7:00pm Galaxies                                Worthey 30
Fri Jun 14  1:15pm Cougar Kids Camp                         Dodgen 30
Tue Jun 11 11:00am WSU preschool - Dana Finkle-Stevenson   Worthey 12
Mon Jun 10  9:15am Franklin Elementary 1st grade (45 min) Westlund 34
Mon Jun 10 10:00am Franklin Elementary 1st grade (45 min) Westlund 34
Thu Jun  6  9:45am-10:05 Jefferson Elem                     Dodgen 22
Thu Jun  6 11:05am-11:25 Jefferson Elem                     Dodgen 22
Thu Jun  6 11:40am-12:00 Jefferson Elem                     Dodgen 22
Thu Jun  6 12:15am-12:35 Jefferson Elem                   Westlund 22
Thu Jun  6 12:50am- 1:10 Jefferson Elem                   Westlund 22
Sun Jun  2  5:00pm Summer Skies                              Jones 58

Fri May 31  7:00pm Summer Skies                              Jones 60
Thu May 30 10:30am Lapwai High School                       Dodgen 50
Tue May 28  1:00pm Stevens Middle School                  Westlund 34
Thu May 23  9:00am K-8 /Kathryn Tibbens                     Dodgen 15
Wed May 22  3:15pm K-8 /Kathryn Tibbens                     Dodgen 25
Wed May 22 10:00am Lewiston elem 3rd grade, Mrs. Jackson    Dodgen 22
Tue May 21 11:00am Orofina homeschool group               Westlund 20
Sat May 18  2:00pm Alicia Petersen girl scout troop       Westlund 18
Wed May 15 12:00pm Lori Brown Jennings Elementary Kinder   Worthey 34
Thu May 09 12:00pm CUB staff / Arman Bohn                 Westlund 15

** subtotal 962 visitors
** April 29 - May 3 final exams 
Sun Apr 28  5:00pm "Sky Wonder Down Under"                   Jones 15
Fri Apr 26  7:00pm "Sky Wonder Down Under"                   Jones 10
Fri Apr 26 12:30pm St. Matthew Lutheran, Spokane          Westlund 15
Tue Apr 23  5:00pm AFROTC cadets                          Westlund  3
Fri Apr 19 10:00am Sorensen Elem, Cour d'Alene  2nd        Worthey 55
Fri Apr 19 11:00am Sorensen Elem, Cour d'Alene  5th        Worthey 55
Mon Apr 15 11:30am WACA 3rd grade                           Dodgen 10
Sun Apr 14  5:00pm "Solar System Sensation"                 Dodgen 63
Sat Apr 13  2:30pm "Solar System Sensation"                 Dodgen 60
Sat Apr 13  1:00pm "Solar System Sensation"                 Dodgen 60
Fri Apr 12  7:00pm "Solar System Sensation"                 Dodgen 60
Fri Apr  5 10:00am preschool                               Worthey 25
Thu Apr  4 12:00pm Echo, OR Elementary                      Dodgen 23

Sun Mar 31  5:00pm "Strange Universe"                        Jones 52
Fri Mar 29  7:00pm "Strange Universe"                        Jones 37
Wed Mar 20 12:00pm Cornerstone homeschool, Moscow         Westlund 45
Tue Mar 19 11:30am Holmes Elementary                        Dodgen 62
Mon Mar 18 11:00am Other Worlds for Common Reading         Worthey  5
** March 11-15 spring break
Sun Mar 10  5:00pm "Other Worlds"                          Worthey 28
Fri Mar  8  7:00pm "Other Worlds"                          Worthey 25

Fri Feb 15 12:00pm Homeschool group                       Westlund 20
Thu Feb 14  8:30pm "Some Like it Hot"                      Worthey 11
Thu Feb 14  7:00pm "Some Like it Hot"                      Worthey 11
Sun Feb 10  5:00pm "SENTIENT"                              Worthey 12
Fri Feb  8  7:00pm "SENTIENT"                              Worthey 10

Tue Jan 29 10:00am Concordia Lutheran Preschool            Worthey 15
Mon Jan 28  1:00pm Beacon Christian School                 Worthey 25
Sun Jan 27  5:00pm "Skies of 2019"                         Worthey 66
Fri Jan 25  7:00pm "Skies of 2019"                         Worthey 64
Fri Jan 25 12:00pm Keller ESL students                     Worthey 20
----------------------------------------------------------------------